This time last year I was just becoming a runner and working on my stamina.  I had a goal in mind.  I wanted to run a 5K.  To most people that’s not really a  big deal.  But to this former couch surfer it might as well have been a marathon.  Me and running have never been friends and I was more than ok with that.  What gave me this crazy desire to start now?   I really have no idea.  I guess I just wanted to prove to myself that I couldn’t do it.  I really thought that I would try and just NOT be able to do it.  But I was wrong.  I am not a fast runner and I definitely cannot do long distant runs but I am a runner.  My short legs can run.  I even ran a 5k on a cold and rainy morning and I was so proud of myself.

This year hasn’t started quite as fit as I had anticipated.  My running has been left by the wayside and I haven’t done a real work-out since the middle of December.  I really want 2012 to be my healthiest year to date.  I am turning 30 and want to have a better body than I did in my 20s.  You would think that would be more than enough motivation to get my act together.  I started the first week of 2012 doing the reset diet phase of the P.I.N.K. Method and felt really good while I was doing it.  You don’t exercise while doing the reset.  Then I got a really bad cold that made working-out impossible.  This past week-end I finally felt good enough to head to the gym.  I was so pumped to have energy and time to work-out.  I didn’t want to over do anything and I was a little scared of not being able to breathe properly or of getting into a coughing fit while I was running.  All day at work I kept telling myself, “Mandi, all you have to do is run one mile.  Just ONE mile.  You can do that.”  And I did just that.  I was so pumped!

Today I did the first work-out of Phase 1 of the P.I.N.K. Method.  I was expecting the same old beginner’s work-out and was thinking that it would be a breeze.  Well I was dead wrong.  After I was done I could barely make it up my stairs.  I am seriously impressed and a bit frightened to do the next work-out tomorrow!

Off to relax a bit and then get some shut-eye.

Cheers!

Mandi

How are you doing with your resolutions?  Any speed bumps for you or are you focused and accomplishing your goals?

If so, what are your secrets to staying motivated?

