Hey Guys!

I’ve been a little on and off with taking care of myself the past few months.  I’ve felt really tired when I wake-up in the morning and can barely make it through the day without a nap.  I’ve been pretty consistent with doing a few hours of cardio each week but I’ve been slacking on lifting weights.  I think my major problem has been my eating habits.  I eat mostly clean, whole foods for breakfast and lunch but once I get home from work it’s like I want to reward myself for making it through the day so I devour anything sugary and delicious.  Even when I’m not even hungry.

I’ve gotten really tired of feeling so tired and so bad about the way I look.  This is a really important year for me and I would like to look back and not have any regrets.  To be proud of the decisions I’ve made and the way I’ve lived my life.  That’s why I decided to do the South Beach Diet.  I had done it a few years ago and had great success with it.

I completed Phase One.  The first few days were a little rough.  You’re basically detoxing from sugar and carbohydrates, which is exactly what I needed.  The last time I did it I relied on sugar substitutes.  I didn’t really change my habits, I just replaced my sugar with fake food.  This time around I want it to stick so I did something I thought I would NEVER be able to do.  I gave up sugar in my coffee.  Which is a huge deal for me and something that I’ve been wanting to do for years now.

I did have a little extra motivation, we had some engagement photos done and I wanted to look as good as I could.  It feels amazing to wake-up with some energy (I’ll never be a morning person).  I’m feeling lighter and excited about starting the day.  I’ve lost a few pounds and that feels good too.  I think that this was a great way to refocus my eating habits and start some other new good habits.  Next up:  pumping some iron!

 

