I’ve decided to start sharing my weekly meal plan here on the blog.  I cannot tell you how much this has helped me stay on track.  I have a sort of formula that I use.  This has made it really easy to come up with what I want to make.

My Formula

Monday and Thursday nights Matt cooks.  I usually pick out a meal that he’s really good at cooking.  Ex. steak with sauteed mushrooms and onions.

Tuesday nights I have the most amount of time so that’s when I make a more elaborate meal.

Wednesdays I try to make something ahead of time that Matt can throw in the oven while I’m at Zumba or that we can reheat when I get home.

Fridays both Matt and I work late so I like to make something in the slow cooker.  Nothing beats coming home to the smell of dinner cooking and minimal dishes to wash.

Saturday we usually we go out.

Sundays we do soup.

So that’s my little “formula”.  It’s worked really well for me when I’m making up the meal plan for the week.  There’s something about looking for specific recipes that makes it easier for me.

So here’s what I’ve come up with for this week.

Monday- leftover tomato bisque soup and grilled cheese sandwiches

Tuesday- sweet potato Shepherd’s Pie

Wednesday- leftovers

Thursday- Beef Satay (I make the peanut sauce the day before)

Friday-Salsa Verde Chicken with rice

Sunday is Matt’s birthday and I’m not sure yet what we’ll be doing.

And now I need to go grab a snack because all this food talk has gotten me hungry!  Do you guys have any good tips for deciding on what to make for dinner or you more the “wing” it type?

