Thanksgiving is just a few days away and I’ve been busy prepping my food. I had planned on making cranberry sauce and while I was paying for my ingredients my sister sent me a text message saying that she was going to make it. I didn’t think that we would need two batches of cranberry sauce since there are quite of few family members that don’t eat it. I could just return the items but the odds of me actually doing that are pretty slim. That’s when I thought about making a crumb bar dessert using the cranberry sauce as the filling.

20121120-161737.jpg
I wanted these bars to be a healthier dessert to give us a break from the heavy pies that we will be consuming. I wanted to swap out the refined sugar and flour with sucanat and a blend of whole grains.

cranberry apple pomegranate crumb bars

adapted from Allrecipes

Crust and crumb topping
1 cup coconut flour
1 cup ground oats
1 cup white whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup sucanat
1 cup butter
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
Pinch of ground cinnamon

Filling
12 ounces of fresh cranberries
1 gala apple, chopped
1 cup pomegranate ariels
1 cup no sugar added apple juice
1/4 cup honey
1 tablespoon arrowroot powder

Directions
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 x 13 pan.

Mix flours, sugar, salt, baking powder and cinnamon. Cut butter into one inch cubes. Mix butter cubes and dry ingredients with egg. ( I like to use my fingers to really mix it all together.) It’s ready when all the ingredients can clump together.

Press half of the mixture into greased pan. Reserve the other half for the crumb topping.

Make the filling by bringing cranberries, apple juice, chopped apples, honey and
pomegranate ariels to a boil in a medium sauce pan. Let boil for 5 minutes or until cranberries start to burst. Remove the pan and allow the sauce to cool. Once cool add the arrowroot powder.

Spread sauce mixture over crust layer. Crumble the remaining crust mixture over the filling and press lightly into filling.

Bake for 45 minutes or until topping is lightly browned. (Mine took 40 minutes but my oven is awful!). Let the crumb bars cool completely until cutting. Eat and enjoy!

20121120-205756.jpg
These are so good that I had to “taste test” 3 bars. They are sweet with a bit of tartness from the cranberries. I really hope that you make them and please let me know what you think!

