I had a really great thanksgiving this year. It started out with a 5k gobbler gallup that I conned Matt, my sister and my brother-in-law into doing with me. I wasn’t sure if they would still be up for it so I bribed them with these.

20121124-120116.jpg
These cinnamon rolls were great for motivation. I kept thinking while I was running that when I was done I would get to enjoy these. (and a cup of coffee with pumpkin pie liquor) 😉 I used this recipe from all recipes.

20121124-120319.jpg
The big meal was at my sister’s house this year. I made a sweet potato and apple casserole, cornbread stuffing, pepperoni bread, ham and cheese bread and a pumpkin pie. I’m giving myself a gold star for not adding anything to my list at the last minute. Running our 5k pretty much killed any extra time I would have had to do this so exercise for the win!

20121125-080728.jpg
This is my plate of turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, cranberry sauce, green beans, carrots, cornbread stuffing and an ugly roll. I always make a little well in my potatoes for the gravy. Ugly rolls are what my family lives for during the holidays! They’re a yeast roll and they are the best roll I’ve ever had. We literally fight over who gets the leftovers.

20121125-081857.jpg
After dinner I braided my nieces hair in a waterfall braid. That poor child cannot come near me without me styling her hair. I don’t think she minds. I also braided my sister’s hair. Then we were entertained by how many books my niece could balance on her head while walking. My brother Jonathan got in on the action too but he wasn’t as good. My niece could turn and do a pageant wave while walking and balancing books on her head. I have no idea why this was so entertaining but I could not stop laughing. We also played a lot of hand games as well. Anyone know coca cola?

20121125-082241.jpg
Then I sampled some pie. I had little slivers of pumpkin, chocolate and peanut butter mousse. I totally forgot to take a picture. It was an early night. I couldn’t wait to relax with the pup.

20121125-082743.jpg
I think she was pretty happy to see us too.

20121125-082835.jpg
I hope you all had a great thanksgiving as well. Did you run any turkey trots? Eat anything crazy? Do any silly people tricks?

