I woke up to a light dusting of the white stuff this morning and it was down right magical.

20121201-132121.jpg
There’s just something about snow that puts me right into the Christmas spirit. Even Ms. Pearl was in awe of it.

20121201-132236.jpg
I really do love the holiday season. The parties, the decorations, the carols, the baked goods! What’s not to love? Only my waistline at the end of it all. This year I am really making a goal to not gain any weight and eat clean during the last month of this year.

20121201-132457.jpg
RAINBOW FOOD CHALLENGE
I’m challenging myself to eat one piece of fruit or vegetable for every color of the rainbow every day next week. I’m combining blue and purple because there are not many naturally blue foods out there. I’ll start on Monday and go until next Sunday. I would love it if you would join me. I’ve already made a list of 10 fruits and veggies in every color.

20121201-171434.jpg
RED
raspberries, apples, strawberries, cherries, watermelon, tomatoes, red pepper, rhubarb, beets and radishes.

20121201-171731.jpg
ORANGE
oranges, peaches, cantaloupe, mangoes, papaya, carrots, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, pumpkin and acorn squash

20121201-171859.jpg
YELLOW
lemons, bananas, yellow figs, pineapple, yellow pears, yellow peppers, onions, summer squash, spaghetti squash, corn

20121201-172047.jpg
GREEN
kiwi, grapes, honeydew melon, green apples, pears, cucumber, kale, spinach, arugula and artichokes.

20121201-172221.jpg
BLUE & PURPLE
blueberries, grapes, black berries, black raspberries, purple figs, plums, eggplant, purple potatoes, purple cauliflower and purple carrots.

My hope is to not repeat any of the same fruit or vegetables but I am a little scared of the blue and purple. That might be a little tough to do. My plan is to eat a lot of salads, soups and smoothies and munch on only the “rainbow” for my snacks. Good luck to everyone that joins in. I’ll be updating every couple of days to let you know how it’s going.

