I have many fun and festive ideas that I’ve been wanting to share here but every time I go to write up a post the words just don’t come.  It feels insensitive and slightly wrong to be planning silly projects, to be so focused on myself.  I happened to have this past Friday off from work.  I had just run out to buy some Christmas lights and was taking a little break when I learned about the tragic event at Sandy Hook Elementary School.  My mind immediately went back to watching the shooting at Columbine and I felt the same exact way I did then.  I felt completely helpless, sad and disgusted.

cropped-castyns-8-bday-1791.jpg

It’s hard to know what to do with these feelings.  Ann Curry sent out a tweet asking what would happen if every one of her followers performed 20 acts of kindness.   I think this is a wonderful idea and fully intend to participate.  There needs to be some good to come out of this horrific event.  I encourage you to be more patient, more understanding and a little more giving.  Let the people in your life know how you feel about them.  Give strangers the benefit of the doubt.

 

 

