Now that Christmas has come and gone is time to focus on the new year.  It’s time to decide what resolutions you want to make.  It’s the time to reflect on the past year and take inventory on what goals you reached and reasons for not achieving some goals.  These were my goals for last year.

  1. Make some home improvements.  LOTS of home improvements, in every.single.room.

  2. Plan our wedding, most importantly book a location.

  3. Spend more time with my friends and family, especially Matt.

  4. Work-out consistently.  Especially work on increasing my running distance and speed.

  5. Get organized.  De-clutter the house and give everything a designated spot.

  6. Reign in my spending.  Make quality purchases.

  7. Continue to save and decrease existing debt.

  8. Give my pets more attention and better care.

  9. Take Yoga

  10. Eat clean (90 % of the time)

Here’s how I think  I did.

1. Making home improvements:  We actually just recently started working on our dining room!  I’m excited to say that the walls are finished and painted.  There’s still a lot left to do but we’ve gained so much momentum.  I also wallpapered the upstairs hallway and painted.  We’re not liking the color so we’ll be re-painting them plus the trim and ceiling.  It’s amazing how one project creates 10 more projects.  So I’m saying goal #1=Accomplished!

20121216-212319.jpg

2.Plan our wedding: We have our location and absolutely love it!  I also have my dress!!!  So much left to do though so I’m saying goal #3 = still working on it.

Bridal Expo 2012 109

3. Spend more time with family and friends.  I definitely did better at this.  I am such a homebody but I’m learning to be more social.  Matt and I started eating dinner at the kitchen table a few months ago and it’s made such a difference.  We actually spend our meal talking about our day and planning what we want to do on the house and many other things.  It’s amazing how changing something so simple as where we sit when we eat can turn our meal into quality time.  Goal #3 = Accomplished!

Baby Shower 065

4. Work out consistently.  I’ve fallen in love with Zumba and kickboxing this year.  My running has been put on the back burner though.  I can say I did exercise consistently every week although I believe I could do much more.  Goal #4= Accomplished!

Pinterset projects 088

5. Get organized.  I have made a lot of improvements in this area.  I spent an entire week of vacation going through the whole house and purging.  At the end of the week we had a tag sale.  It was marvelous!  But there is still so.much.stuff!   Goal #5= work in progress!

Fondue and cabinet organization 057

6.Reign in my spending.  I’ve done much better with this.  It’s amazing how working on de-cluttering prevents you from wanting to buy needless stuff!  I still splurge occasionally though.  Goal #6= Work in progress.

7. Continue to save and pay off debt.  I am so proud to say that we’re right on track with saving.  We have a lofty goal of not owing any money for our wedding.  I think we might be able to accomplish it!  I’ve also paid off one credit card and will have two more cards paid off in a few months.  Once those are paid off I’ll be able to tackle my last card quicker and put more money into my saving account.  Goal #7= Accomplished!

8. Give my pets more attention and better care.  This was any easy goal because I love to spoil my babies.  I go in waves of consistently walking Punky.  I could do a lot better at this.  She loves going on even small walks and especially likes when she meets new friends that tell her she’s cute.  Goal #8= Work in progress.

20121216-213106.jpg

20121216-212438.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Take yoga.  I totally bombed on this one!  I did start taking Zumba and kickboxing though.   Goal #9= Fail!

10.   Eat clean.  This goal was accomplished in waves.  I would do really well and then blow it.  I love sugar so much!  I think this will be something that I’ll be working on for the rest of my life!  I also love vegetables.  It’s too bad that I don’t binge on vegetables instead of chocolate.  Goal #10= work in progress.

20121201-132457.jpg

After reflecting on these goals I’m feeling pretty good about what I accomplished this past year.  I still have lots of room for improvement, which is a good thing.  It will make it easier to figure out my resolutions for next year, but that’s for another post.

Have you done any reflecting on the past year?  Did you make your resolutions for next year?

