I had to skip my regular wednesday morning Zumba this week. Thank god there’s a night class! I took the opportunity to prep some food for the week.

Last night I roasted a butternut squash so I made some soup with it. The last time I made butternut squash soup I was pretty underwhelmed with it so this time I spiced it up with some smoked chipotle pepper and sweetened it with a red delicious apple. It tastes amazing! I can’t wait for my lunch tomorrow.

I also whipped up this quinoa salad.

20130130-170824.jpg
Here it is with the vegetables and dried figs and apricots before I added the quinoa and dressing. I had some for my lunch today and its delicious. I’m also looking forward to eating from it all week.

I made garbanzo beans from scratch for the first time!

20130130-171125.jpg
It’s a magical thing those beans. They can turn from inedible hard little balls to creamy hummus.

20130130-171245.jpg
I’m pumped to have all my lunches for the week all set. Yay me!
I’ve been pretty unfocused lately and I think this was just what I needed to get back on track.

