This has not been my healthiest year. I seem to catch a cold every other month when I usually have maybe one cold a year. I also developed eczema over the winter. It first popped up Christmas Eve. Matt and I were setting everything up for dinner and my underarms were on fire. They felt tender and hot and were kind of itchy. My left eyelid was also affected. I wasn’t even sure what it was at first. I just sort of ignored it and it cleared up in about a week. Then when we were in the thick of planning the wedding and booking the honeymoon it came back. This time I also got it on my face around my mouth. It was horrible! And embarrassing. I mean who wants to go to the stylist that looks like crap?

This time I couldn’t ignore it. I looked for natural remedies. Putting a warm wet cloth with tea tree oil on it was really soothing and made it tingle a little. Which felt like it was doing something to heal it. I also used coconut oil as a moisturizer at night. This seemed to help because when I woke up in the morning the patches were smaller and less irritated, but by the end of the day I wanted to scratch my skin right off! It was awful!

After researching this to death I found an e-book titled The Eczema Cure. It was so helpful! If you’re suffering from eczema I highly recommend this book. One of the things I tried was an elimination diet of common triggers of eczema. I don’t know that for me that it’s a certain food that caused this or not but I did notice that I am definitely sensitive to gluten. Whenever I eat it the next day I am extremely bloated and, there’s no delicate way to say this, I get constipated for days. (Whoa is that embarrassing to share.)

Why am I telling you all of this? Well, because I’m finally going to do something about it. I decided to heal myself through diet. I’m going to start the intro diet for GAPS starting tomorrow. I’m going to try to share my experience here on Msmandipants. I’ll fill you in on what I’m eating and how I’m feeling throughout this healing process. I would greatly appreciate any help or tips.

20130903-070726.jpg
I’m going to enjoy my last cup of coffee and I’ll be back soon with an update on how it’s all going.

