At work I have an alter-ego named Mindy.  She came about as a joke one day and now whenever I’m impatient they call me Mindy.  Basically whenever I’m in a bad mood I’m called Mindy.  Sometimes though I’ll be called Mindy just because I’m standing up for myself.  I don’t always do that, I usually just go with the flow.  I don’t like to ruffle feathers but when I feel like I’m being taken advantage of that’s when something just clicks in me.  I find my voice and people don’t really know what to do with that.  Why am I telling you all this?  Well I think that Mindy is just a stronger part of my personality and lately I’ve been feeling weak.  So I’m relying on her to keep me on track.

I’m almost done with Body for Life, only 2 more weeks left, and I don’t have any significant changes to show for it.  Sure I can lift heavier than I ever could and I’ve gotten into a great workout routine but my body is no where near where I would like it to be.  And I know why.  I’ve been sabotaging myself the whole time.  I’ve been eating horribly.  I have not followed the nutrition part at all.  It’s not that it’s even hard, I just don’t agree with it.  I can’t and don’t want to eat 5 to 6 times a day.  I don’t necessarily like the foods on the plan or even think that they’re  foods.  So I’ve just been eating whatever I want to.  And I feel awful.  I’m tired all day and then I can’t go to sleep at night.  I need my coffee first thing in the morning.  Then about an hour after dinner I HAVE TO HAVE CHOCOLATE or some kind of dessert.  It’s ridiculous.  And I feel powerless to stop it.

So I’m channeling Mindy and doing my first ever Whole30.  It’s 30 days of clean eating.  Only veggies, fruit, protein, nuts and certain fats.  Absolutely NO grains, sugar (other than fruit), dairy or beans/legumes.  It sounds pretty insane for the girl that can’t so no to dessert to do a program like this I know.  But this will reset my body and help rid it of  cravings and give me more energy.  Both of which I desperately need.  I’m on my third day and things seem to be going really well so far.  I’m committed and I’m really looking forward to see how much better I can feel.

iphone 141I started on March 24.  For breakfast I had 2 fried eggs in coconut oil with half an avocado and a cup of coffee with coconut cream.  For lunch I had a giant green salad with roasted chicken.  Matt made steak with mushrooms and onions and a baked sweet potato with cashew butter.  I felt fine all day and didn’t even really notice that anything was different.  I hit up the gym for an hour after work and by the time I was finished eating and cleaning up the kitchen I was ready for bed.

iphone 142I did not sleep well that night.  I tossed and turned all night long but I woke up before my alarm went off.  Weird, that never ever happens.  I wasn’t hungry but one of the guidelines in Whole30 is to eat within an hour of waking up.  This is supposed to keep you from getting the afternoon slump.  So after taking the monkey dog out and feeding her I whipped up 2 fried eggs and some leftover steak and smothered it in spicy guacamole, super delicious.  I had class in the morning and ended up being at the salon much longer than I had anticipated.  I did a pretty gorgeous color technique on my friend Ry.

iphone 126I stayed and worked on my Aunt and then tweaked a co-worker’s hair.  I had to do my grocery shopping before I could go home and eat lunch and I was kind of nervous that I would be starving and just buy nothing but Easter candy but I came prepared.  I had a small bag of mixed nuts and a large water and I was good to go.  Once I was home and all the groceries were put away I had another Hugh Jass salad with roasted chicken and a bowl of fruit.  Then I was so so sleepy so I took a 20 minute nap and felt revived.  I went to the gym and had a fabulous run.  For dinner I made coconut chicken fingers with dijon mustard to dip in and roasted Brussels sprouts and parsnips.  For the most part I feel great.  I had a little bit of a headache but I took that as a reminder to drink more water.  So yeah, two days in and going strong.

Have you done a round of Whole30 or an elimination diet?  Any tips for staying strong throughout?

 

