Hey guys!  How’s your week-end going so far?  Mines been great.  I worked yesterday, like I do every Saturday, and then went to dinner at a Hibachi place for a friend’s birthday.  It was so much fun and I can see Matt and I going often.  We had fruity rum drinks and our food cooked right in front of us.  I was drowned in sake and got squirted by a little boy water pistol thing.  It was a blast!  I ate so much food!  It was really dark so I didn’t take many pictures but I had a small salad with a ginger dressing, crab ran-goons,  fried rice, shrimp, chicken and loads of veggies.  Then I came home and ate the ears off one of my chocolate bunnies.  I was terrified that I would feel like death today after trying so many non Whole30 foods, but I actually don’t feel bad at all.  I slept for like 9 hours and drank a ton of water before bed so I think that probably helped me quite a bit.

These rum drinks totally brought Matt and I back to our honeymoon in Jamaica.

These rum drinks totally brought Matt and I back to our honeymoon in Jamaica.

My drink was really sweet so I was only able to drink about half of it before I called it quits.  I never would have done that pre-Whole30!  I’m pumped for this week’s dinners.  We’re going to do some grilling later and we have a bunch of new recipes to try.  I’m also going to try to do more prepping today to make dinners quicker this week.  I have class all day tomorrow so I have to work Tuesday and it’s hard to get everything done with only one day off.

Meals

Sunday~ Shrimp skewers and steak on the grill

Monday~ shrimp and steak salads (from Sunday’s leftovers)

Tuesday~ roasted salmon with green bean, apricot and pistachio salad and tarragon tomatoes

Wednesday~ spicy pork lettuce cups and citrusy carrots

Thursday~ caramelized Brussels sprouts and chorizo with baked sweet potatoes

Friday~ easy crockpot chicken fajitas

I have come to the conclusion that I need new running shoes.  My feet were killing by the end of even three miles.  I took this quiz on runners world to help me figure out what I should be shopping for and got lucky with a sale on Zappos for the Asics Gel Cumulus15.  I can’t get over how quickly Zappos delivers!  My shoes were seriously here in less than 48 hours!  I can’t wait to test them out today and fingers crossed they keep my feet smiling.

Asics Gel Cumulus15

Fitness

Sunday~ 10k run

Monday~ 5/3 mile run (depending when I get out of class) + Zumba

Tuesday~5/3 mile run (depending on what I run Monday)

Wednesday~ Pilates DVD and Zumba

Thursday~ 3 mile run and weight session

Friday~ REST

Saturday~ 20 min Pilates DVD

Unfortunately the forecast is calling for a lot of rain this week so I think I’ll be spending some time on the treadmill.  I only have a few weeks until the half so training must go on rain or shine.  I had some hard runs last week and I again find myself needing to reset my mind and focus while running.  I am truly lucky to be able to run.  It doesn’t matter how fast or slow I go, only that I’m doing it.  I really beat myself up last week and now I know how silly it was.  It doesn’t make me a better person if I can run faster or longer.  It doesn’t even make me a better runner.  It does give me something to work on though.  When I was running my 3 miles on the treadmill I decided to work on my speed.  I increased the speed every minute and I was able to run at 6.4 mph for a minute.  That’s fantastic for me!  It made me realize how far I have come in just the past few months.  I only have to keep at it and I’ll get better.  I have to stop comparing myself to everyone else.  I’ll only ever be me so the only person I should be comparing myself to is me.  (This applies to more than just running.)  Sometimes this is easier said than done but it’s something that I’m going to consciously keep working on in all aspects of my life.

I have lots of house work to catch up on and that 10k to run so I’m going to end my ramble now.  Have you ever been unnecessarily harsh on yourself?  What did you do about it?  I wish you all a healthy and happy week!

