I'm learning everyday how to be the best version of me.

Daily Archives: April 28, 2014

Yesterday I had such a great run!  I think I just really needed a new mindset and some new shoes. 😉  I did have to stop and adjust my laces on the new kicks a few times but other than that the run felt great.  It was actually almost effortless.  I was really dreading doing this 6.2 run because it was dreary out and I just didn’t feel like running.  I was starting to run out of time so I basically kicked myself out of the house and I’m so glad I did!

veggie skewersMatt grilled up some steak and these gorgeous veggie skewers for dinner last night.  They were amazing!

Vasso salad and meatballsI had an entire day of training at one of our bigger salons today and we were treated to lunch made by our boss Vasso.  He’s from Greece and he’s a fantastic chef and a seriously talented hairstylist.  He made my favorite, meatballs!  I had to eat my entire plate full!  His salad is always full of delicious greens, dill and a homemade dressing.  I said no to an assortment of pastries, garlic bread, pasta and spanakopita.  I did however say yes to two black jelly beans.  They’re my fav.

After class, which got out early, I did a little shopping at Ulta.  I wanted to reward myself for sticking with the Whole30 so I bought myself a little something that I’ve been wanting.

Urban Decay ElectricI can’t tell you how excited I am to play with this!  I’m pumped to use it for an upcoming Zumbathon!  (Now I just need some fun new leggings to go with it!)

Urban Decay Electric Palette These are some seriously fun colors!  After my shopping I hit the bike path where I’ll be running my half-marathon.  The training plan I’m following called for a 3 mile run but it was the last nice day for quite awhile so I decided to do my 5 mile run.  My stomach was so mad at me for eating those meatballs during my run!  It was brutal you guys.  A big lesson learned.  The bike path is really beautiful and part of it goes around a lake so I was beyond happy to be out there.  I always see a lot of animals and this time was no exception.

white chicken crossing the roadI found out why the chicken crossed the road…

 

 

chickensTo hang out with his friends!  I kept seeing these chickens running around ahead of me and I was psyched to get some pictures of them.  I love chickens!  My poor phone died during my run so I don’t have my pace or any pictures of the ducks and geese that I saw.  Oh well, next time.

I took a super fun Zumba class later on and when I got home Punky was begging to go for a walk.  We did a quick 3/4 mile walk and even managed a few sprints up our beastly hill.  Who know my little monkey dog was such a great running coach?

punkyI’m going to finish watching Dancing with the Stars (everyone’s getting hurt:( ). I hope you guys had a great start to your week!