I finished up my Whole30 reset yesterday so that means I got to start reintroducing some of the eliminated foods.  I decided to start to with dairy because that’s what they recommend in the book “It starts with food”.  The one food that I really missed was cheese.  I wasn’t craving it or anything but there were quite a few meals that we ate and I would think to myself this would be so good with some cheese on it.   For breakfast I fully intended to have some yogurt but I was so full from my bowl of Whole30 Hash that it had to wait for lunch.

Fage with banana and blackberries

That first bite was complete and utter bliss, but the after taste was a bit off.  I’m not sure if it was the berries or what but it just didn’t taste right.  The yogurt wasn’t sour or going bad, it just had a different after taste than I’m not used to.  I managed to eat most of it though.  I had really wanted to eat some skyr from a local farm that’s owned by one of my client’s family but the health food store was out when I went shopping.  I also had some left over salad with orange brown buttered shrimp.  This dish was fantastic and we will without a doubt be making it again.  Matt has all sorts of plans to grill it next time.

Orange Brown Buttered Shrimp over Salad

I actually did some Pilates today!  My brother bought me Mari Winsor’s DVD set for Christmas and I’m ashamed that it took me this long to use it.  I had the VHS tapes years ago and I used them so much that it wore the tape out in spots and would get all those lines running through it.  Did I just date myself? :p I remember it being so HARD!  I was pleasantly surprised that I could do most of it.  There are a few moves that I just couldn’t manage but I know that that will just motivate me to keep at it.  It felt so good to work my entire body and to really focus on my core.  I keep reading that core work is really beneficial to running and you know how much help I need with my running.

Best pilates DVD

After my Pilates session I did a bunch of house cleaning and finished up removing some icky flooring in the dining room.  I think we just need to sand down the hard wood and we can finally start using that room!  I have been working on that dining room since the first week we bought the house almost 6 years ago.  Why can’t DIY take a half hour like it does on HGTV?

Brownie Bites

I was pretty hungry about an hour before Zumba and I’ve been wanting to try to make my own energy bites ,so this afternoon I finally made it happen.  These are so yummy, like a larabar but fresher.  I found the recipe on Pinterest.  Here’s the link to the recipe.  They’re simple to make if you have a food processor.  My one mistake was eating four of them in about 15 minutes plus munching on mangoes and pineapple that I was chopping up.  About a half hour later I had a headache.  I’m pretty sure it was sugar overload.

For dinner we had tacos in lettuce cups and I FINALLY got to eat some cheese!  My taste buds were singing and I may have moaned in bliss.  I was too excited to dive in to even bother taking a picture but I’m sure you guys know what a taco looks like.  I freshly grated some raw cheddar cheese from Grafton Village, which is only about an hour away.  It says it was aged for two years.  I figured if I was going to eat some cheese I had better make any potential pain worth it and go with the best stuff I could find.

So far my stomach feels just fine.  I’ll be eating Whole30 style for the next couple of days and I’m really hoping that I don’t have any inflammation or any other reactions to dairy because I really enjoy it.  I probably won’t eat it as much as I did in the past and when I do it’s going to be high quality.

Did you guys try any new recipes or bring back an old staple?